NMU Presents Employee Awards

Excellence in Service Award winners (from left) Hegmegee, Ross, Sproull, Laxo, Mankee, Demboski, Thurston and Hamel

Northern Michigan University honored several individuals and teams during its 2022 Faculty and Staff Recognition Celebration. The individual and team award winners are featured in more detailed individual stories with photos at the highlighted links below. 

Excellence in Service: Individuals

Daryl Johnson, mechanic II, Plant Operations; Glenda Ross, building & grounds attendant, Plant Operations; Chele Sproull, preventive maintenance technician, Plant Operations Facilities; Claudia Mankee, executive secretary, Admissions; Luanne Thurston, executive secretary, Nursing; Kristin Demboski, pharmacy technician, Health Center; Kim Hegmegee, occupational/environmental health specialist, Safety Department; Brad Hamel, executive director of global campus operations, Extended Learning/Community Engagement; and Jason Laxo, head athletic trainer, Health Center. 

Innovation Awards: Individuals

Individuals: Ruth Abbott, senior library assistant; Kurt Hauswirth, classical music producer/host/announcer, WNMU-FM; and Madison Ngafeeson, associate professor, College of Business. 

Innovation: Team Award

Wildpups: Chairperson Michelle Andriacchi, team members Michelle Andriacchi and Dominic Andriacchi (Fonzie), Casey Hopper (Boris), Katie Taylor (Sadie), Rachel Nye (Maggie) and Anne Stein (Ramsey). 

Distinguished Team Awards: 

Superior Dome Athletics Facilities Consolidation/Realignment: Chairperson Brandon Sager, team members David Weigand, Robert Bell, Casey O'Neill, Bob Gravedoni, Joanna Emigh, Bridget Kyle, Christy Lake and Kathy Malay. 

Experience Northern (summer 2021 event): Chair Chris Greer, team members Gerri Daniels, Jim Gadzinski, Katie Korpi, Mary Brundage, Rachel Harris, Neil Baumgartner, Cat Hardenbergh, Tricia Bush, Kate Hooper, Kari Garcia, Herb Brundage, Paul Schoonveld, Alden Griffus, Lauren Anargyros, Tara Schafer, Lucas Dushack, Simon Moesch and Nicole Shoup. 

2021 Homecoming Awards Show: Chairperson Cindy Paavola, team members Robyn Stille, Kylie Bunting, Bridget Kyle, Bill Digneit, Lauren Rotundo, Mike Lakenen, Pat Lakenen, Forrest Karr, David Pierce and Lizzie Corser. 

I Share NMU: Chair Michael Harrington, team members Haley Rhoades, Bob Hanson, Nikki Loehr, Lexie Belles and John Eagle. 

Individual Innovation Award winners (from left) Ngafeeson, Abbott and Hauswirth
Individual Innovation Award winners (from left) Ngafeeson, Abbott and Hauswirth
Prepared By

Jessica-Ann Woodard
Student Writer

Categories: Around NMU