Alumnus Earns APS Award


Northern Michigan University alumnus Bruce Remington, a member of the technical staff at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, has received the American Physical Society's (APS) 2023 George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award. The award recognizes contributions to understanding condensed matter and non-linear physics through shock compression. 

Remington, from Bay City, graduated from NMU in 1975 with a bachelor's degree in mathematics and secondary education and was a 2014 recipient of NMU's Distinguished Alumni Award. He received his doctorate in nuclear physics from Michigan State University in 1986.

According to his award bio, Remington is best known for his work in HED laboratory astrophysics, where he founded the High Energy Density Laboratory Astrophysics (HEDLA) conference series in 1996 to foster this new science focus area. His areas of focus also include HED materials science, studying solid-state material dynamics at very high pressures and strain rates, relevant to impact dynamics, planetary formation dynamics, and novel concepts for ICF.

He pioneered the use of high energy lasers to study Rayleigh-Taylor driven plastic flows at high pressures, strains, and strain rates. He has published over 350 articles on plasma physics, hydrodynamics, astrophysics, solid-state materials science and lattice dynamics, fluid dynamics, nuclear physics and high energy-density physics. His field of work recognizes him as a world leader in laboratory astrophysics.

Remington's other accomplishments include the Edward Teller Medal from the American Nuclear Society in 2011 and the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics in 1995. Remington's most recent Shock Award is the highest offered by APS in shock compression science.

Remington was presented with a plaque and a $5,000 cash award at an APS meeting. His award citation reads: "For pioneering laser-driven high-pressure, solid-state material dynamics in high-energy density regimes."

Prepared By

Julia Seitz
Student Writer

Categories: Alumni