NMU Outstanding Grads Named

NMU academic logo

Northern Michigan University has announced its outstanding graduating seniors and graduate students. Most of them will receive their degrees at NMU's spring commencement on Saturday, May 6, in the Superior Dome.

The outstanding graduating seniors and their departments are shown below (listed by hometowns in alphabetical order, with Michigan cities first):


Bad Axe: Amber Essenmacher, English

Canton: Anna Weaver, Languages

Gladstone: Annie Balender, Political Science

Grand Haven: Esther Byington, Criminal Justice

Grand Rapids: Christina Ferrera, Biology; Riley Box, Social Work

Howell: Olivia Dunn, International Studies

Ishpeming: Ivan Wiljanen, Nursing; Juniper Blandin, Sociology and Anthropology

Kingsford: Bailey Johnson, Health and Human Performance

Marquette: Eyn Nye, Technology and Occupational Services

Negaunee: Davin Hemmila, Math and Computer Sciences

Petosky: Mary Grosskopf, Clinical Sciences

Portage: John Foley, Psychological Science

Portland: Graham Talbott, Economics

Zeeland: Abby O'Connel, Music


Oak Lawn: Sylvia Bednarczyck, Theater and Dance


Olive Hill: Matthew Bemis, Philosophy


Eagan: Elana Manas, Physics

Lake Elmo: Matthew Bourne, Engineering Technology

Maple Grove: Kate Pouliot, Communication and Media Studies

Minneapolis: Anna Kelley, Elementary Education

New York:

Tully: Katie Hayes, Chemistry


Yellow Springs: Gwendolin Mollica, History


Pound: Faith King, Art & Design

The outstanding graduate students with their respective departments are:


Flint: Dahlia Kassel: Psychological Science

Galesburg: Sarah Triemstra, Health and Human Performance

Rochester Hills: Kimberly Rodriguez, Education Specialist

Wakefield: Allison Kupitz, Political Science


Bemidji: Anna Ogren, Health and Human Performance


Columbia: Julia Talen, English


Madison: Zachary Farrand, Biology

Prepared By

Ian McCullough
Student Writer

Categories: Around NMU