NMU Students Awarded GTU Scholarships

Mary Kelly and Elizabeth Williams

Northern Michigan University students comprise two of the four recipients of Gamma Theta Upsilon International Geographic Honor Society's 2023 student scholarships. Both represent the Earth, Environmental and Geographical Sciences Department and are members of NMU's Eta Chi chapter of Gamma Theta Upsilon (GTU). Mary Kelly, Eta Chi President, was honored with the Richason Scholarship. Elizabeth Williams, Eta Chi Secretary, was awarded the Maxfield Scholarship. Each is valued at $1,000. 

"We are proud of Mary, Eli and all of the Eta Chi members for promoting geography through their dedicated learning and giving back to Planet Earth," said chapter sponsor and EEGS Department Head Susy Ziegler. 

The Eta Chi Chapter is repeatedly recognized as one of the most active GTU chapters internationally. Each semester the EEGS Department mails invitations to students who meet the eligibility requirements to join GTY, an organization certified by the Association of College Honor Societies. Students in any major may join GTU if they have met the criteria.


Prepared By

Kristi Evans
News Director

Categories: Department News