NMU Students Win Broadcasting Awards

Attending the awards ceremony were (from left): Dwight Brady, Todd Rose, Sarah Jepson and Max Stevens.

Two sports announcing teams at Northern Michigan University won awards at the 2019 Michigan Student Broadcast Awards.

“This is truly a great accomplishment when you consider we are competing against much larger universities with significantly greater resources,” said multimedia journalism professor Dwight Brady.

The team winning second place for Best Sports Announcing Team was comprised of Max Stevens (play-by-play), Don Ede (color commentary), Cali Hunter (sideline reporter) and Anne Ludwig (director). The team winning honorable mention was Max Stevens (play-by-play), Todd Rose (color commentary), Andy Ridolphi and Chandler Gaboury, who shared directing duties.

The productions were created during the sports and special events class taught by Brady. Students announce the games, serve as directors and camera operators, and provide instant replay, graphics and audio for live streaming of NMU sports during the fall semester.

The Michigan Student Broadcast Awards are produced by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters, a non-profit organization representing commercial radio and television broadcast stations in Michigan.

Prepared By

Charlie Edwards
Student Writer

Categories: Around NMU