NMU Jazz Ensembles Perform

Jazz performance stock photo

Northern Michigan University's Department of Music will host the first Jazz Ensembles concert of the 2021 Fall Concert Series at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 27, in Reynolds Recital Hall. 

The concert will feature both the NMU Jazz Band and the NMU Jazz Combo. The Jazz Band is a standard big band with close to 20 players. The Jazz Combo features a rhythm section of guitar, bass and drums, as well as two saxophones.   

The concert will spotlight a variety of student-performed music, from straight-ahead swing to more modern compositions. It will include music composed by Pete McGuinness, Fred Sturm, Victor Young, John Lennon, Paul McCartney and Mike Tomaro.

Admission is free and live streaming will be available here. Learn more about the performance here

Prepared By

Jill Vermeulen
Student Writer

Categories: Around NMU