Tenure, Promotions and Appointments Take Effect

NMU academic logo

The NMU Board of Trustees approved faculty tenure, promotions and new appointments, which took effect with the start of the fall semester. Trustees also authorized contract extensions for several school and department heads.

The following faculty members were promoted to the rank of professor:

Amy Barnsley, Mathematics and Computer Science

Joshua Carlson, Psychological Science

Hugo Eyzaguirre, Economics

Michael Kowalczyk, Mathematics and Computer Science

Lesley Larkin, English

Paul Mann, Clinical Sciences

Michael Martin, Engineering Technology

Cale Polkinghorne, Engineering Technology

John Sherman, Languages, Literature and International Studies

Jessica Thompson, Business

Bao Truong, Mathematics and Computer Science

Susy Ziegler, EEGS

Mann was also granted tenure, as were Sarah Breen of Health and Human Performance and James Marquardson of Business. The following faculty members were granted tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor:

Yan Ciupak, Sociology and Anthropology

Taimur Cleary, Art and Design

Melissa Copenhaver, Nursing

Jaime Crabb, Nursing

Ann Crandell-Williams, Social Work

Theresa Durley, Nursing

Caroline Krzakowski, English

Weronika Kusek, Earth, Environmental & Geographical Sciences (EEGS)

Rachel May, English

Gabrielle McNally, Art and Design

Kristen Smith, Nursing

Tracy Wascom, Art and Design

Brian Zinser, Business

Others promoted to the rank of associate professor were: Randy Klitzke, Technology and Occupational Sciences; David Pierce, Theater and Dance; Gordon Xu, Library and Instructional Support; and Anna Zimmer, Languages, Literatures and International Studies.

The board approved the following new tenure-track faculty appointments (at the assistant professor rank, unless otherwise indicated):

Kevin Berry, Business

Brian Bubloz, Criminal Justice

Steven Elmer, Health and Human Performance (associate professor)

Joshua Ingber, Economics

Laura Kennedy, Education, Leadership and Public Service

Murong Miao, Business

Adam Naito, EEGS

Heejung Park, Business

Evan Pratt, Chemistry

Continuing appointments were approved for the following: Brent Fields, instructor-TAS, Technology and Occupational Sciences; Randy Klitzke, associate professor-TAS, Technology and Occupational Sciences; and David Pierce, associate professor, Theater and Dance.

David Prychitko is the new Economics department head, in addition to professor. The board also granted Professor Emeritus of Nursing status to Jane Campbell.

Rebecca Ulland is the new head of the Languages, Literatures and International Studies Department. Contract extensions were awarded to the following department heads and associate deans through June 30 of the respective years indicated:

Joseph Lubig, associate dean/director, School of Education, Leadership & Public Service, 2025

Paul Mann, associate dean/director, School of Clinical Sciences, 2025

Alan McEvoy, head and professor, Sociology and Anthropology, 2021

Mark Paulsen, head and professor, Chemistry, 2025

Jon Phillips, head and professor, Mathematics and Computer Science, 2025

Jeffrey Vickers, head and professor, Music, 2021

Abigail Wyche, head and assistant professor, Social Work, 2022

Prepared By

Kristi Evans
News Director

Categories: Around NMU